Early Rankings: Kansas I, 2017

Martin Truex Jr photo

Martin Truex Jr. tops my early Kansas I driver rankings. (photo courtesy nascar)

Here are my early driver rankings for this week’s NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Kansas. I compiled them by crunching:

  • The loop data for the past 15 Sprint Cup races (excluding Daytona and Talladega);
  • the loop data for the past four races;
  • the loop data for the past four races at Kansas;
  • the loop data for the past seven races at other tracks in the Large Ovals track group (i.e., Michigan, Kentucky, Fontana, Charlotte, Texas, Atlanta and Chicagoland);
  • the practice and qualifying data for the past four races at Kansas; and
  • the practice and qualifying data for past seven races at the aforementioned Large Ovals.

The results:

  1. Martin Truex Jr.
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Kevin Harvick
  5. Kyle Busch
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Chase Elliott
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Matt Kenseth
  10. Denny Hamlin
  11. Ryan Blaney
  12. Ryan Newman
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  16. Clint Bowyer
  17. Kasey Kahne
  18. Austin Dillon
  19. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  20. Erik Jones
  21. Trevor Bayne
  22. AJ Allmendinger
  23. Paul Menard
  24. Ty Dillon
  25. Aric Almirola
  26. Daniel Suarez
  27. Danica Patrick
  28. Chris Buescher
  29. Michael McDowell
  30. David Ragan
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. Matt DiBenedetto
  33. Cole Whitt
  34. Corey LaJoie
  35. Gray Gaulding
  36. Reed Sorenson
  37. #66 Car – Driver TBA
  38. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  39. Derrike Cope
  40. Timmy Hill

6 thoughts on “Early Rankings: Kansas I, 2017

  1. JD

    It does suck that they weren’t provided, but the projections posted after the race are way more accurate.

  2. Jed Henson Post author

    Hey everyone, sorry I didn’t get final Kansas content published. I left town for my daughter’s college graduation, and I forgot to bring my laptop. I asked my wife to bring it (we traveled separately), and she forgot it, too. Couldn’t crunch the numbers without it.

Comments are closed.